The International Canoe

The forum for the International Canoe
It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:12 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Info sort re K 196
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:56 pm 

Hi, I am new to Int canoes and have just bought an old boat in need of TLC. It is an FRP boat but with ali spars and solid Dacron sails. The sail no is K 196. I bought it through an ad on your market place from a Jim Barr in Northern Ireland.
If anyone knows any history regarding this boat I would love to hear from them. I have no information at all, no certificate etc. Jim thought it was built by Piranha.
I hope one day, when I've tidied it up and mastered the basics, to see you at some meetings.
Regards Rit. ritwalton@yahoo.co.uk

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Info sort re K 196
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:11 pm 

Hi Rit, as far as I remember K196 was new in 1987 just before Plymouth Worlds of that year. It is a Pyrhana. Bob or Steve Austin may know more of the history. It may have belonged to one of them, but if not they had numbers very close to it. There was a batch built in that year, 3 of which were chartered to visiting helmsmen and sold off afterwards. They generally came with Batt sails and Proctor Kappa masts. I unfortuneately bought one the following year, was ripped-off by the class association who sold it to me for £1700 and declared £1100 later on the balance sheets. High commision!
Cheers,

Simon Allen

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 1:23 pm 

Hi Rit
Following on from what Simon said, I owned 196. I bought it direct from Graham Mackereth, (Mr Pyranha) in the autumn of 1987. It was the first of the MK2’s and I don’t think it was used in the Worlds of that year, my relocation is that Graham intended the boat for himself but never used it - the Mk2 Pyranhas had production problems and some were built over-weight – he preferred to build and use 209 instead.